So natural a foundation, you can eat it!

I have always been a MAC girl. For years, I have bought the Medium Dark Mac Blot Powder/Pressed. It adds minimum color and gives a sheer finish. It was perfect for me – My face didn’t shout color, it was like a little subtle touch-up, corporate professional look.

Bottom line is – I never thought I would ever switch.

One day, I read something about safety in cosmetics. Mica which we see in make-up products is a naturally occurring mineral dust, often used as a filler in cement. Some report that inhaling mica is not good for mine workers but other assure that mica use in cosmetics is not concerning for consumers. That confuses me because if I were to apply make-up with mica, I will invariably inhale those particles, won’t I?

Perhaps the quantities are really small to cause any harm. Or perhaps the size of the particles are too big to enter our lungs. On the contrary, Dr. Oz says that the size of particles IS often small in mineral make-up and can be easily inhaled into the lungs. A popular minerals company – Bare Minerals says however that it doesn’t use nano particles. Some experts suggest the use liquid foundations, instead. But other experts state liquid foundations have chemicals in them.

Honestly, there is no credible evidence for all the claims out there, and we should use our discretion. Since I was always attracted to things that were natural and homemade, I started browsing the net for something easy to make that didn’t have any chemicals in it. In fact, I wanted it to be so natural that it would be okay to eat it.

Yep, you read that right. Edible foundation powder!

So, here we go…on a Kapoor Adventure. Robin Konie’s All Natural Homemade Foundation Powder recipe was the one that appealed to me. I customized it based on my skin color. I am Indian (South Asian origin), medium-fair skin – Granada Beige may be a better way to describe it.

This was my first time making it so I literally used ingredients that were lying around at home. Not everything is natural or organic but I am getting there. I need to finish what I already have in my pantry. I made a tiny batch to test it out and I am pretty happy with the results.

You will need:

  • Arrowroot Powder (same as arrowroot flour or starch)
  • Cocoa Powder
  • Ground Cinnamon
  • Ground Nutmeg
  • Robin’s recipe calls for few drops of Jojoba oil so I have this in the picture, but honestly, I don’t think it is required for a loose powder. I put a few drops and then I stopped short because it started to make things sticky. I wont use it in the future

Here is where you start. As Robin’s recipe suggests, you can play around with the colors after you make the initial concoction.

For my skin tone, I used 2 teaspoons of arrowroot powder. (3 teaspoons make one tablespoon btw) . Use 3 teaspoons of arrowroot powder if your skin is lighter. This is your base.

To this, add 1/2 teaspoon of cocoa powder. More if your skin is a bit darker than mine. I love the color texture that cinnamon and nutmeg provide. I would add a 1/4 spoon of each. Then, you mix it together.

I kept my MAC compact powder by my side as a comparison point. It helped me to get to a color that was as close to what I was used to. I highly recommend this – it is useful. IMG_1025I thought of going a bit lighter but decided against it. I was afraid it would give my face a bit of a chalky feel.

I promise you that even though it looks a bit grainy here in the picture, when you put it on, it won’t look like you have a brown (or beige or white) color plastered on your face. It will blend in with the color of your face, assuming you made the right shade.

I applied it on my face and it has been on the whole time I have been writing this post. No irritation, no redness. It feels natural and looks pretty darn good. I will probably be wearing it to my kid’s Back to School night today and I am so excited to show it off.

SO know this. Your edible foundation powder is easy to create and as natural as it can be. Love your body and it will love you back. Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

