My First D.I.Y. Natural Candle!

Trust me. I have been wanting to write this post for a while now. In the last week, I have seen 20 different videos and read perhaps 50 Do-It-Yourself Natural Candles blog posts to build up the confidence to make my own candle.

I have been wanting to make my own candle, not just because they may be cheaper than what we get in stores. They are cheaper, undoubtedly – And because I love candles, making them would save me a bunch of money. Okay, maybe – that could be a reason, but not the only reason.

I have been wanting to make my own candles because I can have control over what goes in that candle – A lead-free wick and a candle free of chemicals that go into a typical candle – benzene, paraffin, toluene and synthetic fragrances.

Today, my little one and dear Mr. Kapoor were by my side when I made my very first candle. And, I have to tell you – I am heart-happy and Cool-Aid cool. Truly.

This is what I used:

  • Natural Candle Wick (Medium Size). This package came with a cotton wick with the metal piece attached. I choose the company that said that their wicks were lead-free. This was important to me. The packet cost me $0.25 per wick
  • Bee Wax: I got a pack of 5 oz – which basically came as 5 little blocks. For what I paid for, it was expensive ($1 per oz). There is also a controversy re Organic vs. non-Organic bee wax. Some articles say that there is no such thing as organic. Anyway – my finding was that I need at least 2 1/2 oz to make one candle, so what I bought won’t work. I need to find a cheaper alternative
  • A Pyrex Measuring Cup – Yep, you should have one at home. But – I bought a new one because I read that wax is a messy affair and the jar will be hard to clean. So – the new one I bought was a designated one, meant specifically for candles. Given how easy this candle-making process turned out to be, I am glad I did this. I recommend a 2-cup glass size
  • Essential oil to scent the candle: I used vanilla extract because that’s what I use at home for my waffles. I will probably experiment with more oils now that I know how candles are made! You will need a measuring spoon if you are too lazy to count the 25-50 drops you need to put into the melted wax. (I am also questioning if we need any essential oil again – bee wax is supposed to have a nice scent!)
  • Glass stirrer or spoon or wooden stirrer (you know you could just pick up one at Starbucks!)
  • Candle Jar – I used one from a 4-jar set I bought from Ikea years ago. I am going to recommend a pack of 6 8-oz metal cans, perfect to travel or to gift

So – this is how I made it:

  1. Grate the block, or cut it into smaller pieces
  2. Oil the Pyrex jar. Otherwise it will be a nightmare to clean it later. Jojoba oil is a good oil to use
  3. Heat a pan with about 1/4 of water. Once the water is boiling, put your Pyrex jar in it. Leave the handle out so that it is easy to pick up once done. This is basically a double-boiler concept. The bee wax will melt pretty fast – Less than 5-6 minutes, tops!
  4. While you wait, prepare your candle jar. Put the wick in the middle and use chopsticks to ensure that it stays up and stable
  5. When the wax has melted, turn off the heat and put your essential oil in it and stir it. Then, quickly pour the liquid wax into your candle jar.
  6. Give it 20 minutes and you will see that the wax has solidified already
  7. Some recommend that one should leave the candle overnight before burning it
  8. I cut the wick already before setting it in wax, but you can do it 12-hours later too

 

Hope you give it a try! I am so excited that I did.

 

Leave a Reply

