Easy Peesy D.I.Y. Yogurt

In India, folks make their own yogurt. I have been away from India about 15 years now, and things may have changed now but that’s how I remember it.

In the last 15 years, I have always bought grocery-store yogurt for my family. I was never confident of making my own. Until last week.

Can I tell you how easy it is? Here is what you need:

  • Two cups of Milk (Vitamin D organic milk is your best bets)
  • A container to warm your milk on the stove
  • 1.5 tablespoons of yogurt with active cultures (I couldn’t find plain organic yogurt with active cultures in a small container so I bought what I found!)
  • Container with a lid to make the yogurt

That’s it.

 

Warm milk on the stove at low heat. Remember not to heat it too fast, because if you do, your yogurt will be gritty. Once it is warm, add the two tablespoons of yogurt and stir it well. Make sure that it completely dissolves. It is important to have active cultures in the yogurt otherwise there will be no yogurt! Look at the label before buying your yogurt.

Pour the milk into the yogurt container with the lid. Keep the container in the oven (that is turned off) with the light on overnight or for about 8 hours and your yogurt is done. Remember to put it in the fridge once done.

 

Leave a Reply

