D.I.Y. Insect Repellent Oil

Crazy things happen when you enter parenthood. You are now responsible for a young thing who is completely dependent on you. You over think. You protect. You care more about this little thing than you have really cared about anything else. Things change.

DEET never mattered to me until I became a mom. When my little one was 5, I sent her to nature camp. I hadn’t really heard of or read about mosquitoes that kill. Instructions from camp were to apply bug spray so I did.  I read the bug sprays with DEET are most powerful. They work. Bravo. My kid will be safe now.

Since our move to LA, we’ve been spending way too much time outside. There is a lovely Discovery Bird Park near the Ballona Nature Preserve where we live that my family visits often. Yesterday, I saw a board in Discovery Park that warned us of the West Nile virus. And – as we all know, everyone has been on edge about Zika.

Which means, the Kapoors will need to put insect repellent in the dawn-to-dusk hours on a regular basis. Insect Repellent with DEET will now come to our rescue, right?

Hmm. Not so fast.

Since I have been on a natural and DIY quest, I did a little Google search on DEET. I realized that DEET wasn’t the safest of chemicals. Because it can kill bugs, it possibly can harm other life forms too.  Bad news.

So, today I made my own Bug Oil. It is an experiment so I will doing a follow-up post on this one. I also want to make a bug spray – which seems just as easy – I just need to buy a spray bottle.

I found this recipe from Tiffany’s Don’t Waste the Crumbs website. This is what I used to make my bug oil:

Put it all in a glass jar, and shake before you apply. I read that essential oils keep better in an opaque jar. If this experiment pans out, I will be buying one.

For now, keeping it simple and frugal.

Leave a Reply

