Lett-us-experiment

I read somewhere that it is easy to grow lettuce at home so I decided to try it out.

I had a lettuce stem (bottom of the lettuce) which I kept instead of discarding and put it in a jar of water by a window in my home.
As you can see, a brand new leaf started to sprout within a few days. Over time, roots started to grow at the bottom. I changed the water a couple times and that was it – the lettuce re-grew!

But I admit the growth was slow. So I tried another experiment.

The next time I held on to a lettuce stem, I decided that instead of water, I will put it in organic soil. I was much more successful at this experiment. This is what my lettuce looks like now.

 For me, the answer is clear. Not water but soil.

Leave a Reply

