DIY Dish Soap

Today, I decided to make dish soap.

I used this recipe. This soap is non-toxic and simple. I chose this particular recipe because I had all the ingredients at home.

1/4 cup of grated soap – I used Dr. Bronner’s Castile Lavender Bar soap. I added this grated soap to 1 1/4 cup of boiling water.

img_2137img_2138

Then, I stirred the mixture until it dissolved. To this mixture, I added 1.5 tablespoons of washing soda.

img_2140

After giving it another stir, I added 1/4 cup of liquid castile soap from Dr. Bronners.

img_2141

I let the mixture cool and then added 10 drops of essential tea tree oil.

img_2143

Sorry about the picture…sometimes, it is hard to take the picture and perform the task at the same time. Anyway, as you can see and as the recipe suggested, the mixture will slowly change color and thicken. I am already seeing this happen and its only been 20 minutes.

img_2144

Once the mixture completely cooled down, I repurposed an old dish soap bottle and refilled it with my newly made dish soap.  I am told the mixture is supposed to thicken to form a gel-like consistency. Lets see how this soap does!

img_2145

Make a note of all the ingredients you need for this DIY product!

img_2136-1

Leave a Reply

